Yesterday I got a nice email from Apple saying that I reached 48.9 GB of storage on my 50 GB iCloud Account and it is time to upgrade. To which I said... WAT? It’s not the first time I have this problem. The way iCloud works on an all-connected way has puzzled me many times. But I thought I had fixed this problem before and was good to go for a while.

Ok, let’s go back to the board. I had a look at the storage on my phone and confirmed the issue, pictures & videos are making up 46 GB of this storage.

So let’s have a look at the media types...

As you can see on the picture above, I have 239 videos and 4345 live-photos (mini-videos) ; and what you cannot see are the 7.000 “simple pictures” on top of that.

So how do we clean this up?

Videos, your main culprits

The first action should be to deleting a few videos. One of those can easily take up dozens if not hundreds of megabytes of storage. Focus on deleting the longer ones first.

I personally have a few backup scenarios in place, among which an automatic backup to my Synology NAS, to Google Pictures and an external hard-drive, so I want to keep on iCloud only the videos I would like to access from my phone at any moment. And by “I”, I mean my kids who love to browse old videos from time to time.

I certainly have a few videos to delete, but my focus is elsewhere. I though I had removed all the Live-Photos... what the heck?

The problem with Live-Photos

Live photos were introduced with iOS9 in 2015 along with the iPhone 6S. Those are composed of a still picture and a small video. The video is always about twice the size of the picture. If you need the live picture, fine. But if you keep both and just need the stills, you increase the space taken by a picture by 300%.

Here is the comparison of two images: a still (IMG_4764) and a live-picture (IMG_4763):

Still image weight 0,78 MB, Live-Picture 0,74 MB + 1,34 MB

I sometimes use those to take picture of moving obj... kids. Kind of like a burst of images, but that starts half a second before you hit the button. I then select one frame and delete the rest.

So we have two tasks:

  • Stop the bleeding
  • Remove the old stuff

Stop the bleeding: Turn-Off Live-Photo

In September 2017, with iOS11, Apple introduced a feature that looks like it would be doing exactly this. Go into edit mode, tap the “live” at the top of the picture, and BOOM, the picture is a still.

For the past 2 years, I have diligently been doing exactly that. Taking a picture with live enabled. Then selecting a frame and removing the live.

Remove the old stuff: Lean App

To remove lots of pictures, I used an app called “Lean”. The App does exactly this and only this: remove the live picture while keeping the still with all its metadata.

I did this 2 years ago. And then forgot about it. Until yesterday.

Yesterday, I loaded the app again and started it:

  • First, it doesn’t seem to be able to preview “turned-off Live-Pictures” (see below). So 90% of the pictures are displayed as a big white square.
  • Then when I attempt to delete one of those, it says “success, freed up 0 MB”. Which is not really what I would interpret as a success.
  • Finally, as soon as I select more than one picture, I get an error claiming that there is not enough storage space. And then deleting single images doesn’t work anymore either.

Too bad, it was a great product.

Lean error

Erase Live-Photo

But wait a second, I thought I had removed those live-photos. Those white squares seem to say that I did something. But in fact, the live was just turned off. Edit a picture again, and you’ll see that you can turn it on again. Which means that the picture is treated as a still picture, but the live part is still there somewhere, taking space. If you search online, you will rarely see this last information.

So for the past two years, I have diligently been doing... nothing. Great.

“Duplicate as still and delete” approach

The only reliable workflow I found to delete the live part is the following:

  • select one or more live-photos
  • duplicate them as stills
  • delete the originals

Here are the detailed steps:

  1. Open the live-photos album
  2. Select the pictures you want
  3. Hit the share icon on the bottom left and then duplicate
  4. Hit “duplicate as still photos”
  5. Potentially wait for the app to download the photos if you setup iCloud to unload older images automatically
  6. Select the same pictures again (that’s why it is important to be in the live photos album)
  7. Delete them
The "duplicate" menu

I tested this on about 80 live pictures-so-far and found a few good and not so good side effects:

  • First of all, the pictures are not deleted right away, they land in the “Deleted” album. So you can still recover them for 30 days.
  • The duplicated picture contains all the same meta-data so you will find it at the exact same place if you sort per date or geo-location for instance.
  • That said, the duplication doesn’t retain the album link. So if your live-photo was in an album, the duplicated picture will not be there.
  • Live-pictures can be edited to bounce, loop and blur a long exposure. Those cannot be duplicated as stills. So if you select many pictures and have at least one of those in there, the context menu “duplicate as still photo” will not be shown and all the pictures you selected will be duplicated as live pictures. You will then have to remove all the duplicates per hand. You should first have a look at the “Animated” and “Long Exposure” albums that iOS created for you. You will find those pictures in there and can preemptively delete them or recognize them and try to remember them for later.
  • If you setup iCloud to unload older images automatically, you will have to download them all again to duplicate them. This is usually not a problem if you select one or two pictures. But it can become thorny if you select more at once.
A live-photo with the loop, bounce and long exposure options shown

I cannot say how much space was really saved by this action yet. The statistics are not granular enough. The storage for picture and videos used to be 46 GB. After deleting the pictures (and deleting them from the “deleted” album) it is 45,9 GB. But it is roughly what was expected (~1.x MB / picture).

I have yet to do it for the remaining of my 4000+ live photos.

If you find another side-effect or if you know a better/alternative way to do this, please leave a comment below!


Photo by Alice Donovan Rouse on Unsplash